Fresenius Kabi

In 2009, Fresenius Kabi identified and partially realized attractive cost-cutting potentials. The focus of the procurement activities at Fresenius Kabi was on the “Global Sourcing Initiative” project. The project covered all production locations. Several teams were set up at each location to analyze the input materials used, energy consumption, and purchased services. The aim is to identify further potential for optimizing procurement, and for substituting input materials or harmonizing them Group-wide. The project was very successful; the potentials identified will be realized over the long term.

In 2009, the global economic situation strongly affected Fresenius Kabi’s purchase prices. After the prices of almost all the relevant raw materials reached all-time highs in mid- 2008, most of them then fell to their lows for the year. The prices of individual raw materials were still at a very low level at the beginning of 2009. In the later course of the year their prices picked up again. All in all, raw material prices in 2009 were below their corresponding average 2008 levels.

The prices of plastic granulate (for primary packaging and medical devices), foil (for primary and secondary packaging), and cardboard boxes and bag materials (for medical devices) were adjusted at regular intervals to the development of the underlying commodity prices. This also applied to glass bottles whose manufacturing processes are very energy-intensive. Their prices fell owing to the lower prices for heating oil and gas. We fixed the prices of products derived from corn by contract in 2009; under our framework agreements these prices will be reduced in 2010 into line with the fallen corn and energy costs. As had been expected, the level of supply on the world market for the processed milk products relevant for Fresenius Kabi was very high until the middle of 2009. We were therefore able to negotiate favorable purchase prices. All in all, the development of raw material prices had a positive effect on our cost of materials in 2009: we reduced our costs compared to 2008.

As expected, the cost of electricity and natural gas rose in 2009. As a result, Fresenius Kabi conducted consumption analyses at several production locations aiming to reduce energy consumption or to identify cost-cutting potential.

Fresenius Kabi has made a number of acquisitions in the area of IV drugs over the past years in order to extend its coverage of the supply chain. On this basis, Fresenius Kabi conducted a large number of make-or-buy projects in 2009. This analysis of numerous active substances and finished products indicates whether it would be best to manufacture them in-house at one of its own production locations or whether they should continue to be purchased in the market. Fresenius Kabi has already realized initial results and will be continuing these activities in the coming years.

Continue reading:
Fresenius Helios

QUICKFINDER

History

Fresenius Kabi

Fresenius Kabi hat im Jahr 2009 attraktive Einsparungspotenziale ermittelt und zum Teil bereits realisiert. Im Mittelpunkt der Beschaffungsaktivitäten von Fresenius Kabi stand das Projekt „Global Sourcing Initiative“. Es erstreckte sich über alle Produktionsstandorte. An jedem Standort wurden mehrere Teams gebildet, die die eingesetzten Einsatzmaterialien, den Energieverbrauch und bezogene Dienstleistungen analysierten. Ziel war es, weitere Potenziale zu identifizieren, um die Beschaffung zu optimieren, Beschaffungsmaterialien zu substituieren oder diese auch konzernübergreifend zu harmonisieren. Das Projekt verlief ausgesprochen erfolgreich, die identifizierten Potenziale werden langfristig umgesetzt.

Im Jahr 2009 beeinflusste die weltwirtschaftliche Entwicklung stark die Einkaufspreise von Fresenius Kabi. Nachdem Mitte des Jahres 2008 die Preise nahezu aller relevanten Rohstoffe ihr Allzeithoch erreicht hatten, sanken sie daraufhin mehrheitlich auf ihre Jahrestiefstände. Die Preise einzelner Rohstoffe bewegten sich auch zu Beginn des Jahres 2009 noch auf sehr niedrigem Niveau. Im weiteren Jahresverlauf folgten sie erneut einem Aufwärtstrend. Insgesamt lagen die Rohstoffpreise im Jahr 2009 jedoch unter dem jeweiligen Durchschnittspreis des Jahres 2008.

Die Preise von Kunststoffgranulaten (für Primärpackmittel und Medizinprodukte), Folien (für Primär- und Sekundärpackmittel), Kartonagen und Schlauchmaterialien (für Medizinprodukte) passten sich in regelmäßigen Abständen an deren Rohstoffpreisentwicklung an. Dies galt auch für Glasflaschen, die in energieintensiven Prozessen hergestellt werden. Ihre Preise sanken aufgrund der niedrigeren Rohstoffpreise für Heizöl und Gas. Die Preise für Maisfolgeprodukte hatten wir im Jahr 2009 vertraglich fixiert, im Jahr 2010 werden sie aufgrund der gefallenen Mais- und Energiekosten in unseren Rahmenvereinbarungen reduziert. Bei den für Fresenius Kabi relevanten Milchfolgeprodukten war das Mengenangebot im Weltmarkt bis Mitte des Jahres 2009, wie erwartet, sehr hoch. Dementsprechend vorteilhaft verhandelten wir die Einkaufspreise. Insgesamt hat sich die Entwicklung der Rohstoffpreise positiv auf unseren Materialaufwand im Jahr 2009 ausgewirkt: Wir reduzierten die Kosten im Vergleich zum Jahr 2008.

Erwartungsgemäß sind die Beschaffungskosten für Strom und Erdgas im Jahr 2009 gestiegen. Fresenius Kabi hat aus diesem Grund an mehreren Produktionsstandorten Verbrauchsanalysen durchgeführt mit dem Ziel, den Energieverbrauch zu reduzieren bzw. Einsparpotenziale zu identifizieren.

Im Bereich der I.V.-Arzneimittel hat Fresenius Kabi in den vergangenen Jahren verschiedene Akquisitionen durchgeführt und damit auch die vertikale Wertschöpfungskette ausgebaut. Auf dieser Basis führte Fresenius Kabi im Berichtsjahr eine Vielzahl von Make-or-Buy-Projekten durch: Die Analyse zahlreicher Wirkstoffe und Fertigprodukte zeigt auf, ob diese an einem der eigenen Produktionsstandorte hergestellt oder weiterhin auf dem Markt zugekauft werden sollten. Fresenius Kabi hat erste Ergebnisse bereits realisiert und wird diese Aktivitäten in den folgenden Jahren fortsetzen.

Lesen Sie weiter:
Fresenius Helios

QUICKFINDER

Verlauf