Fresenius Medical Care

As the world’s leading provider of dialysis care and products, Fresenius Medical Care has a special commitment to maintaining the best possible quality standards for its patients and customers. To meet these demands and the numerous regulatory requirements, Fresenius Medical Care has implemented comprehensive quality management systems in its regions, which reflect both the specific local conditions and the company’s global responsibility.

These systems regulate and monitor compliance with quality and safety standards for all products and procedures, from development, production, and regulatory approval to clinical application, customer training and handling complaints. The quality management system combines internal regulations and processes with the specification of external standards – such as ISO 9001:2000 for quality management systems and ISO 13485:2003 for medical products. In Europe, for instance, a growing number of dialysis clinics are undergoing the ISO 9001:2000 certification process. In the countries of Latin America and Asia, we are also having our clinics certified to this standard, for instance in Colombia and Ecuador. Most of the production sites in Europe are also certified to ISO 9001:2000 standards. Our North America production sites in Ogden, Utah, and Walnut Creek, California, as well as our Mexican site in Reynosa are certified to ISO Standard 13485:2003 for medical products, as are the production plant in Buzen, Japan and the production facility in Jiangsu, China, which produces bloodlines.

To assess quality in dialysis care, Fresenius Medical Care uses quality parameters that are generally recognized throughout the dialysis industry. One example is the so-called Kt/V value, which shows the cleansing performance of the dialysis treatment. This is calculated by analyzing the relationship between the duration of treatment and the amount of specific toxic molecules that were removed from the blood. The number of days patients are hospitalized is also crucial for determining treatment quality, because they are particularly cost-intensive and can significantly reduce the quality of life of dialysis patients. Constantly measuring these and other parameters helps us to further improve our standards in providing dialysis treatment.

The quality management implemented at our sites and at our dialysis clinics is regularly audited. In Europe, this is handled by the TÜV. These conformance and certification experts check our corporate headquarters, the production plants as well as sales organization and clinical organizations as part of their annual audits. In the United States, Fresenius Medical Care’s production facilities are regularly audited by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. We also monitor the effective implementation of our quality management systems through regular internal audits performed by employees who are specially qualified and trained for this purpose. Furthermore, through regular patient and customer surveys, we obtain valuable feedback, for instance, on the acceptance of our customer, delivery, and technical customer service, on our vacation and travel service, as well as on its home visits and on the general quality of the care provided.

Continue reading:
Fresenius Kabi

QUICKFINDER

Fresenius Medical Care

Fresenius Medical Care hat als weltweit führendes Dialyseunternehmen das Ziel, Patienten und Kunden bestmögliche Qualität zu bieten. Um diesen Anspruch und die zahlreichen regulatorischen Auflagen gleichermaßen zu erfüllen, hat Fresenius Medical Care in seinen Regionen umfassende Qualitätsmanagementsysteme implementiert, die lokale Gegebenheiten ebenso widerspiegeln wie die globale Verantwortung des Unternehmens.

Diese Systeme regeln und überwachen die Einhaltung von Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsvorgaben in Bezug auf sämtliche Produkte und Verfahren, von ihrer Entwicklung und Herstellung über die Marktzulassung und Anwendung in den Kliniken bis hin zur Schulung von Kunden und den Umgang mit Reklamationen. Das Qualitätsmanagementsystem verbindet interne Regelungen und Abläufe mit den Anforderungen externer Standards – zum Beispiel der ISO-Norm 9001:2000 für Qualitätsmanagementsysteme oder der ISO-Norm 13485:2003 für Medizinprodukte. In Europa etwa ist eine kontinuierlich wachsende Anzahl an Dialysekliniken nach der Norm 9001:2000 zertifiziert. Auch in den Ländern Lateinamerikas zertifizieren wir unsere Kliniken nach diesem Standard, beispielsweise in Kolumbien oder Ecuador. Die meisten Fertigungsstätten in Europa sind ebenfalls nach ISO 9001:2000 zertifiziert. Unsere nordamerikanischen Produktionsstandorte in Ogden, Utah, und Walnut Creek, Kalifornien, sowie im mexikanischen Reynosa verfügen über ein Zertifikat nach der ISO-Norm 13485:2003 für Medizinprodukte, ebenso wie das Produktionswerk in Buzen, Japan, sowie die Produktion für Blutschlauchsysteme in Jiangsu, China.

Für die Bewertung der Qualität der Dialysebehandlungen nutzt Fresenius Medical Care medizinische Parameter, die in der Dialysebranche allgemein anerkannt sind. Ein Beispiel dafür ist der Kt/V-Wert. Dieser setzt die Reinigungsleistung der Dialysebehandlung und Behandlungsdauer in das Verhältnis zur Rate der Reinigung von bestimmten toxischen Molekülen. Auch die Zahl der Tage, die Dialysepatienten im Krankenhaus verbringen müssen, ist ausschlaggebend für die Behandlungsqualität, denn sie gehören zu den besonders kostenintensiven Faktoren und können die Lebensqualität der Dialysepatienten deutlich mindern. Die kontinuierliche Messung dieser und weiterer Parameter hilft uns dabei, unsere Leistungen in der Dialysebehandlung weiter zu verbessern.

Die Umsetzung des Qualitätsmanagements an unseren Standorten und in den Dialysezentren lassen wir regelmäßig prüfen – in Europa etwa durch den TÜV. Die Sachverständigenorganisation kontrolliert in Audits, d. h. standardisierten Inspektionen, jährlich die Unternehmenszentrale sowie die Werke, den Vertrieb und unsere Klinikorganisation. In den USA werden die Produktionswerke von Fresenius Medical Care regelmäßig von der U.S. Food and Drug Administration auditiert. Die Leistung unserer Qualitätsmanagementsysteme ermitteln wir regelmäßig auch in unternehmensinternen Audits; sie werden von Mitarbeitern durchgeführt, die wir dafür gezielt aus- und weiterbilden. Nicht zuletzt erhalten wir durch die Befragung von Patienten und Kunden wichtige Rückmeldungen, etwa zur Akzeptanz des Kunden-, Liefer- und technischen Services, zum Urlaubs- und Reiseservice, zu Hausbesuchen sowie zur Qualität der Behandlung allgemein.

Zurück zu:
Qualitätsmanagement
Lesen Sie weiter:
Fresenius Kabi

QUICKFINDER