Fresenius Kabi

In 2009, Fresenius Kabi extended the certification of its environmental management. It was certified by an external organization that the environmental management system at two more production sites in Europe and Asia conformed to the requirements of ISO Standard 14001:2004. The certification of further sites is planned.

At our production sites in Friedberg and Bad Homburg, Germany, the recycling rate was at the previous year’s level of about 95 %. About 5,200 t of waste were recycled (2008: approximately 5,900 t). The volume of waste at the two locations was reduced by about 25 % at the Friedberg plant and by about 17 % at our location in Bad Homburg.

Numerous measures were implemented in 2009 to reduce energy consumption, CO2 emissions, and the consumption of natural resources such as water. The building control system at the Friedberg site was extensively overhauled. This enabled Fresenius Kabi to reduce energy consumption at the plant by about 700,000 KWh a year. That represents a reduction of CO2 emissions by about 180 t.

The useful life of fully demineralized water (FD water) in production was extended. This reduced the use of chemicals and flushing water in the water treatment process. FD water is a preliminary stage of distilled water; both types of water are produced directly at the production site. Fresenius Kabi uses FD water for cleaning processes in production, e. g. for cleaning production lines and equipment. Distilled water is used directly in the production of drugs.

An energy concept was developed for the Friedberg production site in collaboration with an external partner. The aim was to identify potential for further energy savings. First measures are due to be implemented in 2010.

An energy concept was developed for the Friedberg production site in collaboration with an external partner. The aim was to identify potential for further energy savings. First measures are due to be implemented in 2010.

At the production site in Graz, Austria, a certified environmental management system has been in place since 2008. This defines various performance indicators, such as the recycling rate. The aim is to guarantee and continuously improve the efficiency of the plant’s environmental management over the long term.

In 2009, we were able to increase the recycling rate by about 10 % to 70 %. The remaining 30 % serves as a source of energy and is used for this purpose in thermal waste treatment plants. A basic prerequisite for proper recycling is strict, sort-clean waste separation. Other environmental indicators are, for instance, energy consumption – by type of energy – and water consumption, relative to production output in each case.

The environmental protection measures at the Graz site are continuously optimized through environmental training schemes for employees. Internal audits are carried out to monitor and evaluate their success.

At the production site in Linz environmental management had the following focuses in 2009. Firstly, we implemented the environmental management system to ISO 14001:2004 standards and, secondly, an energy and resource conservation project was continued. Internal audits were conducted to evaluate the general environmental impact in the individual departments. Here we concentrated above all on waste disposal and the handling of hazardous substances. A number of measures were already successfully implemented in 2009. We achieved reductions in energy and water consumption and in the volume of waste water. In the production of lactulose, for instance, the existing agitator motors in the production vessels were replaced with motors of a higher efficiency rating. This measure reduced the level of energy consumption by about 25 %. The Linz plant is one of the biggest producers of lactulose in the world. Lactulose is produced from lactose through processes of chemical conversion. Due to its detoxifying effect, the product is used in the treatment of diseases of the liver or intestine.

Other long-term measures are planned that will save energy and other resources in future.

At our plants in Uppsala and Brunna, Sweden, the total volume of waste in 2009 was 3,337 t (2008: 3,412 t). Over the past years we have initiated a number of waste management projects aimed at reducing the volume of waste and, equally, at organizing the disposal of the waste in the most environmentally sound and efficient manner. Water consumption increased compared to 2008, due among other reasons to the increase of production output.

In 2009, measures were continued to reduce energy consumption at the locations. The operation of ventilation and air-conditioning systems has been much reduced outside production times. A vapor condenser was installed to reduce energy losses in the steam heating system. The condenser recovers the energy from the steam heating system that is released to the atmosphere as vapor after the heating process. In addition, more energy-efficient pumps were installed in the system as well. Furthermore, at the Brunna site the refrigerant HCFC R22 (Hydro chlorofluorocarbons) was replaced by the much more environment-friendly refrigerant HFC R407C (Hydro Fluorocarbons). We are also working on a plan of action to identify potential for further savings.

Continue reading:
Fresenius Helios

QUICKFINDER

History

Fresenius Kabi

Fresenius Kabi hat im Jahr 2009 den Zertifizierungsumfang des Umweltmanagements ausgeweitet. Zwei weiteren Produktionsstandorten in Europa und Asien wurde von einer externen Organisation bescheinigt, die Anforderungen der ISO-Norm 14001:2004 an ein Umweltmanagementsystem einzuhalten. Die Zertifizierung weiterer Standorte ist geplant.

In unseren Produktionsstandorten Friedberg und Bad Homburg, Deutschland, lag die Recyclingquote im Jahr 2009 mit rund 95 % auf Vorjahresniveau. Die Abfallmenge, die der Wiederverwertung zugeführt wird, lag bei rund 5.200 t (2008: rund 5.900 t). Das Abfallvolumen sank am Produktionsstandort Friedberg um rund 25 % und am Standort Bad Homburg um rund 17 %.

Im Jahr 2009 wurde eine Vielzahl von Maßnahmen durchgeführt, um den Energieverbrauch, den CO2-Ausstoß sowie den Verbrauch an Rohstoffen, z. B. Wasser, zu reduzieren. Am Produktionsstandort Friedberg wurde die Regelung der Gebäudeleittechnik umfassend überarbeitet. Dadurch konnte Fresenius Kabi den Energieeinsatz der Betriebsstätte um rund 700.000 KWh pro Jahr reduzieren – das entspricht einem CO2-Ausstoß von etwa 180 t.

In der Produktion wurden die Nutzungszeiten von voll entsalztem Wasser (VE-Wasser) verlängert. Dies reduzierte den Einsatz von Chemikalien und Spülwasser im Rahmen der Wasseraufbereitung. VE-Wasser ist eine Vorstufe von destilliertem Wasser, beide Wasserarten werden direkt am Produktionsstandort hergestellt. Fresenius Kabi verwendet VE-Wasser für die Reinigungsvorgänge in der Produktion, z. B. bei der Reinigung von Anlagen. Destilliertes Wasser wird in der Produktion von Arzneimitteln verwendet.

Für den Produktionsstandort Friedberg wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit einem externen Partner ein Energiekonzept erarbeitet. Ziel war es, weitere Energieeinsparpotenziale aufzuzeigen. Mit der Umsetzung erster Maßnahmen soll im Jahr 2010 begonnen werden.

All diese Aktivitäten dienen nicht nur dem vorrangigen Ziel des Umweltschutzes, sie halfen auch, im Jahr 2009 in erheblichem Maße die Energiekosten zu senken.

In Österreich verfügt der Produktionsstandort Graz seit dem Jahr 2008 über ein zertifiziertes Umweltmanagement. Darin wurden verschiedene Kennzahlen, z. B. die Recyclingquote, als Umweltindikatoren definiert. Ziel ist es, langfristig die Effizienz des Umweltmanagements zu gewährleisten und es kontinuierlich zu verbessern.

Im Jahr 2009 konnten wir die Recyclingquote um rund 10 % auf 70 % erhöhen. Die verbleibenden 30 % dienen als Energielieferant und werden zu diesem Zweck in thermischen Abfallbehandlungsanlagen eingesetzt. Grundvoraussetzung für eine ordnungsgemäße Wiederverwertung ist die konsequente sortenreine Trennung der Abfälle. Weitere Umweltindikatoren sind beispielsweise der Energieverbrauch − unterteilt nach Energiearten − und der Wasserverbrauch, jeweils bezogen auf die Produktionsmenge.

Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Umwelt am Standort Graz werden durch Schulungen der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter laufend optimiert. Mittels interner Audits wird deren Erfolg überprüft und bewertet.

Am Produktionsstandort Linz hatte das Umweltmanagement im Berichtsjahr die folgenden Schwerpunkte: Zum einen implementierten wir das Umweltmanagementsystem gemäß ISO 14001:2004, zum anderen wurde ein Energie und Ressourceneinsparungsprojekt fortgesetzt. Mittels interner Audits evaluierten wir generelle Umweltleistungen in den einzelnen Abteilungen. Dabei konzentrierten wir uns vor allem auf die Abfallentsorgung und den Umgang mit gefährlichen Arbeitsstoffen. Einige Maßnahmen setzten wir bereits erfolgreich um: Wir erzielten Einsparungen bei Energie- und Wasserverbrauch sowie beim Abwasser. So wurden z. B. bei der Herstellung von Lactulose die bestehenden Rührermotoren in den Produktionsbehältern durch Motoren einer höheren Effizienzklasse ersetzt. Die Energieeinsparung durch diese Maßnahme beträgt rund 25 % des vorherigen Energieverbrauchs. Der Standort Linz zählt zu den größten Lactulose-Produktionsstätten weltweit. Lactulose wird durch chemische Umwandlungsprozesse von Milchzucker (Lactose) gewonnen. Aufgrund der entgiftenden Wirkung wird das Produkt in der Therapie von Leber-Erkrankungen oder auch Darm-Erkankungen eingesetzt.

Weitere langfristig angelegte Maßnahmen werden auch zukünftig zu Einsparungen bei Energie und anderen Ressourcen führen.

In unseren schwedischen Produktionsstandorten in Uppsala und Brunna betrug das Abfallvolumen insgesamt 3.337 t im Jahr 2009 (2008: 3.412 t). Wir initiierten in den vergangenen Jahren verschiedene Projekte im Bereich des Abfallmanagements, um zum einen die Höhe des Abfallvolumens zu reduzieren und zum anderen die Entsorgung so umweltgerecht und effizient wie möglich zu gestalten. Der Wasserverbrauch stieg im Vergleich zum Vorjahr u. a. aufgrund der erhöhten Produktionsmenge an.

Im Jahr 2009 wurden Maßnahmen fortgesetzt, um den Energieverbrauch der Standorte zu senken. Außerhalb der Produktionszeiten wird die Betriebszeit der Lüftungs- und Klimaanlagen deutlich reduziert. Ein Dunstkondensator wurde installiert, um die Energieverluste des Dampfheizsystems zu verringern. Er fängt die Energie aus dem Dampfheizsystem auf, die nach dem Heizvorgang als Dunst in die Luft abgegeben wird. Zudem wurden neue, energieeffizientere Pumpen in dem System installiert. Darüber hinaus wurde am Standort Brunna das FCKW-haltige Kältemittel R22 (FCKW − Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoff) durch das wesentlich umweltfreundlichere, FCKW-freie Kältemittel HFC R407C ersetzt. Wir arbeiten an einem Maßnahmenplan, der weitere Einsparpotenziale aufzeigen soll.

Lesen Sie weiter:
Fresenius Helios

QUICKFINDER

Verlauf