Fresenius Vamed

In the future, health care systems will also have to pay greater attention to sustainability. This factor must especially be taken into account in the hospital sector. As an active contribution toward environmental protection, VAMED already integrates national environmental standards and regulations into the planning and construction of a hospital or other health care facility.

For instance, in its design of a hospital and modern cancer clinic that is being constructed on a turnkey basis in Gabon, VAMED provided for the waste water from the hospital to be cleaned in a proprietary sewage treatment plant. Clinical waste is disposed of in the hospital’s own high-temperature incinerator designed to European standards.

For many years, VAMED has been responsible for the technical management of the Vienna General Hospital and University Clinic (AKH), one of the largest hospitals in Austria with over 10,000 employees. Together with the AKH, VAMED has implemented a range of measures designed to conserve energy, especially in the areas of air-conditioning and heat recovery. In 2009, the AKH’s greenhouse gas emissions were reduced by about 12 % versus 1998, i. e. from approximately 134,000 t to about 118,000 t of CO2 per year. The international target set by the Kyoto Protocol, to reduce emissions by 5.2 %, has therefore been well exceeded. VAMED measures the hospital’s emissions on a CO2 equivalent basis. This is a standard measure that converts greenhouse gas emissions into the equivalent amount of CO2, also taking into account other greenhouse gases in order to achieve the Kyoto target, enabling companies to demonstrate the effectiveness of environmental and climate protection measures. The AKH, together with VAMED, has set itself the target of reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 2012 by three times the amount required by the Kyoto Protocol.

Back to:
Fresenius Helios

QUICKFINDER

History

External related links

Fresenius Vamed

Das Gesundheitswesen muss in Zukunft noch stärker dem Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit gerecht werden. Gerade im Klinikbereich gilt es, dies zu berücksichtigen. VAMED integriert die jeweiligen nationalen Umweltvorgaben bereits in die Planung von Krankenhäusern und anderen Gesundheitseinrichtungen als aktiven Beitrag für den Umweltschutz.

So sieht VAMED bei der schlüsselfertigen Errichtung eines Krankenhauses und eines modernen Krebsbehandlungszentrums in Gabun vor, dass anfallende Abwässer aus dem Krankenhaus in der eigenen Abwasserbehandlungsanlage gereinigt werden. Klinischer Abfall wird mittels einer eigenen Hochtemperatur-Müllverbrennungsanlage nach europäischem Standard verbrannt.

VAMED ist seit vielen Jahren für die technische Betriebsführung des Allgemeinen Krankenhauses der Stadt Wien – Universitätskliniken (AKH) verantwortlich, einer der größten Betriebe Österreichs mit mehr als 10.000 Beschäftigten. VAMED hat zusammen mit dem AKH verschiedene Maßnahmen umgesetzt, um Energie zu sparen, insbesondere in den Bereichen Klimatisierung und Wärmerückgewinnung. Im Jahr 2009 konnte der durch das AKH verursachte Schadstoffausstoß um rund 12 % gegenüber 1998 gesenkt werden, d. h. von rund 134.000 t CO2 auf rund 118.000 t CO2. Das internationale Ziel des Kyoto-Protokolls von 5,2 % konnte somit deutlich übertroffen werden. VAMED stellt den CO2-Ausstoß des Krankenhauses über das CO2-Äquivalent dar; dies ist eine einheitliche Bemessungsgrundlage, die Treibhausgase in die entsprechende Menge CO2 umrechnet. Das CO2-Äquivalent dient dazu, neben CO2 auch weitere Treibhausgase bei der Erfüllung der Kyoto-Ziele zu berücksichtigen. Dadurch können Unternehmen die Wirksamkeit von Umwelt- und Klimaschutzmaßnahmen darstellen. Das AKH hat sich zusammen mit VAMED zum Ziel gesetzt, bis zum Jahr 2012 den Schadstoffausstoß um das Dreifache der im Kyoto-Protokoll verlangten Menge zu verringern.

Zurück zu:
Fresenius Helios

QUICKFINDER

Verlauf